Our aim is to build crucial missing

infrastructure for sustainability

CoSphere is a partnership of academics, NGOs and industry focused on engagement,  research and implementation. Our mission is to unleash stewardship action worldwide by making it easy, enjoyable, affordable, rewarding and contagious for citizens and businesses to invest in locally legitimate science-based projects that mitigate their impacts, thus enacting broadly shared commitments to planetary responsibility.


By transforming these human relationships with nature, we seek a world in which impact minimization and mitigation is normal, and economic development nourishes the planet.


Our team

Kai Chan

Kai Chan is a professor and Canada Research Chair (tier 2) at the Institute for Resources, Environment and Sustainability at the University of British Columbia. Kai is an interdisciplinary, problem-oriented sustainability scientist, trained in ecology, policy, and ethics from Princeton and Stanford Universities.

Paige Olmsted

Paige is completing her PhD at the Institute for Resources, Environment and Sustainability at the University of British Columbia. Paige's current research revolves around financial incentives for ecosystem service conservation, but she has a multi-disciplinary background in biology, environmental policy, and public administration.

Seth Brouwers

Seth holds a Masters in Business, Entrepreneurship and Technology degree from the University of Waterloo and is an entrepreneur with over 10 years of experience working with innovation and technology oriented companies. Seth brings value in all aspects of business and all stages of development and growth.

Core team:

Carter Ingram - Senior Manager for Climate Change and Sustainability Services at Ernst and Young.

David S. Wilcove - Professor at the Woodrow Wilson School at Princeton University.


David Zehnder - Program Co-ordinator, Farmland Advantage (formerly 'Ecological Services Initiative').

James Tansey - CEO and President Nature Bank Asset Management, Executive Director of the UBC Sustainability Initiative

John Robinson - Professor in the School of Environment at The University of Toronto.

Kristjan Jespersen - Doctoral Fellow at the Centre for Corporate Social Responsibility at the Copenhagen Business School.

Michelle Molnar - Ecological economist and policy analyst at the David Suzuki Foundation.

Advisory board:

Paul Uys - Former senior Loblaw executive, Consulting Specialist and Senior Director at the University of Guelph’s Food Institute.

Rashid Sumaila - Professor at the Institute for the Oceans and Fisheries at The University of British Columbia.
Richard Carson - Former Director at Parks Canada and Fisheries and Oceans Canada.

Robin Naidoo - Senior Conservation Scientist and Lead Wildlife Scientist at the World Wide Fund for Nature (WWF).

Terre Satterfield - Director and Professor at the Institute of Resources, Environment and Sustainability at The University of British Columbia.

Unai Pascual - Ikerbasque Research Professor at the Basque Centre for Climate Change and Senior Lecturer at the University of Cambridge.

Our Collaborators
Want to be a part of this?